. . . .
Melbourne Prize for Literature 2006 —

WINNER — Helen Garner
John Marsden
Alex Miller
Dorothy Porter
Hannie Rayson

Best Writing Award — finalists

WINNER — Christos Tsiolkas, Dead Europe, Random House
WINNER — Civic Choice Award. Henry von Doussa,
                    The Park Bench
, Thompson Walker

Azhar Abidi, Passarola Rising, Penguin Books/Viking
Ben Chessell, The Heartbreak Tour
Neil Grant, Indo Dreaming, Allen & Unwin
Sonya Hartnett, Surrender, Penguin Books/Viking
Mary Ellen Jordan, Balanda: My Year in Arnhem Land, Allen & Unwin
David McCooey, Blister Pack, Salt
Ross Mueller, Construction of the Human Heart
Carrie Tiffany, Everyman’s Rules for Scientific Living, Picador

Selected titles are available at Readings

Prize Announcements

Finalist exhibition 13 – 27 November 2006 in the Atrium at Federation Square. Click here to view the exhibition.
Winner announcements, click here for a media release.
Click here to view the catalogue or click here to have a catalogue mailed to you.


  An initiative of Melbourne Prize Trust
Prize details  Awarding committee  Sponsors & Patrons  Key dates & contact details