Thank you for your interest.

The Melbourne Prize for Urban Sculpture 2011 and finalist exhibition have now closed. Please refer to this website for further information.

Click here for the exhibition catalogue (4mb)
Click here for a video of the 2011 finalist exhibition at Federation Square



Bianca Hester – Melbourne Prize for Urban Sculpture 2011 winner

Isaac Greener & Lucas Maddock – Professional Development Award 2011 winner
Sonia Leber & David Chesworth
Clive Murray-White
Tom Nicholson
Stuart Ringholt


Civic Choice Award 2011 – this award is presented to the finalist with the highest number of votes cast by the public during the Federation Square exhibition. The recipient of the Civic Choice Award 2011 is Isaac Greener & Lucas Maddock for their work Apostle No. 2.

Please click on the link above for information and images from the finalist exhibition.

Entry Form

Click here to view an example of the entry form.

Prize Details


$60,000 cash

Supported by The Vera Moore Foundation, The Tallis Foundation and The Melbourne Prize Trust.


$10,000 cash

A return international air ticket and a residency at The Victorian College of the Arts, Sculpture & Spatial Practice Studios, the University of Melbourne.


Details of the residency will be negotiated between the recipient and The Victorian College of the Arts following the announcement.


This award will be presented to a finalist in the Melbourne Prize for Urban Sculpture 2011.

Supported by Nathan and Pamela Jacobson, the Professional Development Award Trust, Qantas and the Victorian College of the Arts.


$5,000 cash

To be awarded to a finalist with the most public votes cast, between 7 and 21 November 2011, by visitors to the free public exhibition at Federation Square and at


Supported by Nathan and Pamela Jacobson.


An artist fee of $4,000 (incl. GST) will provided to a (maximum of) six (6) finalists to assist with costs associated with preparing entries for the public exhibition.


Max Delany
Director, Monash University Museum
of Art


Juliana Engberg
Artistic Director, Australian Centre for Contemporary Art


Simon Perry
Artist & Sculpture Coordinator, School of Art, RMIT University

Professor Marie Sierra
Artist & Head, School of Visual & Performing Arts, University of Tasmania


Dr Gerard Vaughan AM
Director, National Gallery of Victoria

Key Dates

Entries open

18 April 2011


Entries close

15 June 2011


Finalists announced

13 July 2011

Finalists’ work exhibited at
Federation Square

7 and 21 November 2011


Finalist announced

9 November 2011


Civic Choice Award 2011
recipient announced

25 November 2011

2011 Partners
& Patrons

2011 Partners & Patrons

Past Recipients



Melbourne Prize for
Urban Sculpture 2008

Alexander Knox


Professional Development Award

Tom Nicholson


VicUrban Award

Louise Paramor


Civic Choice Award

Elaine Miles



Melbourne Prize for
Urban Sculpture 2005

OSW: Terri Bird, Bianca Hester, Natasha Johns-Messenger and Scott Mitchell


Professional Development Award

Karen Abernethy


Fabrication Award

Simon Perry


Civic Choice Awrad

Matthew de Moiser

Contact Us

Melbourne Prize Trust

204 St Kilda Road

Southbank VIC 3006

Tel. (03) 9696 4410